This game is too good to not have a sequel

This is the right place to share your game experience and feelings! Feel Free!

This game is too good to not have a sequel

Postby l84571557 » 12 June 2013, 23:24

Hi there, forum newbie here.

First of all, let me say that I ADORE Cyanide and Spider's "Of Orcs And Men".
It's a bit hard to swallow in the first hour, because I was utterly confused by the combat mechanism and the world setting. But later on in the game, once you get the hang of it and really starting to think about strategy and build up, the game grows on you and you start to care for the characters and the story.

At some point the story is a hit-and-miss. For example, the horrifying act of burning a building full of people seems to have no repercussion on our heroes' psyche, which is strange considering Arkail was the one opposing Sarkyss' blind obsession with revenge at the first place. (I wonder if there is a honor-bound code in Orcs' culture regarding torturing and killing non-combatant?)
Since Arkail had trouble with expressing himself, many of his inner conflicts were conveyed through Styx's monologue, who offers comic relief but didn't dwell deep enough at times. Nevertheless, when he opens up, you come to love the character after all.
Styx...what can I say, he's one of the kind ;) , you gotta love him even if he's a potty mouth.

My favorite part of the game is definitely chapter 3. Dealing with Arkail and Styx's past is one of the most compelling acts I seen in a very long time, right up there with PS:T transcendent one, NWN2 MotB, DAO Morrigan's dark ritual and beats most of ME Shepard's grandiose speeches.